I received a call this morning from the mother of one of our brides who's wedding was just over two years ago. Mom begged me not to delete their photos explained that a lot has happened over the past two years are a nearly ready to complete their order and will come in before Thanks Giving to order their album.
I assured her I would never delete any image files. She thanked me and said they would be in touch very soon. We said goo-bye.
Now, this started me wondering. Do photographers actually delete images if an order isn't placed? After thinking about the conversation, I got the distinct feeling mom really thought I would do something like that. So... I wonder what scared her. I wonder if someone she know lost their image because that photographer deleted them. Scary thought, don't you think?
Rest assured, that would never happen with South Street Studios. When the photography world went digital, me being a bit of a techie and with a background in computers, set in place a backup system, I still use today. The technology has changed a bit allowing for a faster, cleaner work flow, however, the system is still the same.
Every event is backed up on site before we leave. Once I get home I make a second back just for my own safety.
Back at the studio the following morning, the event is copied to three more locations. One, my working hard drive, the second, a network storage device, the third an external hard drive. Oh, and a blu-ray copy that is stored off site. So, actually four backups.
Your image are always safe with use, plus you'll receive copies for your own safe storage.
